About  |  Committees

ANET is a field station owned and operated by Dakshin Foundation.


​​Kartik Shanker
Aarthi Sridhar
Meera Anna Oommen
Naveen Namboothri



​​Zai Whitaker
Romulus Whitaker
Sara Vetteth
​Javed Khan



The main purpose of the Ethics Committee is to ensure that research (and allied activities) carried out with/on human and animal subjects at ANET follow established ethical protocols that are indispensable for good scientific research and practice. An ethics approval is also a requirement for most scientific publications. All research projects carried out at ANET will be evaluated by Dakshin Foundation’s Ethics committee which is comprised of experts from different institutions who have long-standing experience in dealing with ethical questions regarding human and animal focused research. All new proposals submitted to ANET will be subject to scrutiny regarding this and applicants will be informed about the steps required to complete this process.


Ethics Committee Coordinator

Adithya Pillai, Dakshin Foundation


Human Research Ethics Review Committee (HREC)

Aarthi Sridhar, Dakshin Foundation (HREC, Chair)

Kanchi Kohli, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi

Dr. Siddhartha Krishnan, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bangalore

Dr. Bharath Sundaram, KREA University, Andhra Pradesh

Adithya Pillai, Dakshin Foundation


Animal Research Ethics Review Committee (AREC)

Dr. Andrea Phillott, FLAME University, Pune (AREC, Chair)

Dr. Shomita Mukherjee, Salim Ali Centre for Ornithology and Natural History, Coimbatore

Dr. Maria Thaker, Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr. Robin Vijayan, Indian Institute of Science, Education and Research, Tirupati

Chandana Pusapati, Dakshin Foundation